The love of a mother

“A mother’s love is instinctual, unconditional, and forever.”- Unknown

“Of all the rights of women, the greatest is to be a mother”- Lin Yutang

I have been thinking a  lot lately about what kind of mother I desire to be. The more I’ve been thinking about this, it has really begun to sink in just how important the role of a mother is. Until a child is old enough to understand God’s love , have a relationship with Him, and be independent the mother is viewed as the protector and provider. Her opinion weighs heavily on your heart and the decisions you make. The sound of her voice and her presence brings a sense of peace to the child that no one on this earth could replace. Having her support and knowing that she would go to the ends of the earth for you makes you feel like you can do anything.

That being said, I sense this huge responsibility and calling on my life. Since I became pregnant, I have been doing a lot of self- reflection and I am trying to spend a lot of time with God praying. I want to have a really good sense of who I am, my faults, my strengths, etc so that I can use all of that to help build up Abbie into the young woman that God is calling her to be. Even now while she’s still growing in my belly.

Thinking about all of this makes me think of my own mom. She was that for me. A support who built me up and always encouraged me. Even when I messed up and was rebellious (which I was. A LOT. ) she was there guiding me and helping me along the way….always having my back. (My dad was this for me, too. But I’m just focusing on motherhood today)

I love my mom so much and I am so excited that Abbie gets to have her in her life as a nana. I’m also excited because I can continue to learn from my mother and have her support in this life- altering season of mine.

My beautiful mamma 🙂

About youngchewymom

I am a twenty-something wife, mommy, daughter, friend, and worship leader trying to do too much at once (story of my life!). I married my best friend, Justin, in May 2009 and two years later we moved into our very first house! The week that we closed on the house, we discovered we were expecting our first baby in December 2011. Ever since then, it seems life has been a crazy ride and we have been soaking in every second of this life that God has blessed us with. Life has its ups, downs, rough times, and blessings...and this is my attempt to document whatever comes our way! View all posts by youngchewymom

Leave a Reply

